Sept 2015: Chute-Chute First 30 Days

Given a very limited time because I’m a full-time husband with a full-time job, I hope to squeeze in more quality because I can never have the quantity of time and kilometers that most training plans suggest. It’s of great help and I will forever be grateful that some veteran runners are actually posting blogs about how they prepare for trail ultramarathon races and write race reports afterwards. I sort of learn from them and use their experiences to educate me in training. To mention a few, I would like thank these Filipino trail runners/bloggers, whom I never knew or met in person yet, for their inspiring write-ups — The Bald Runner, Atty. Jonnifer Lacanlale and Atty. Aldean Philip Lim. And, of course, my love for the trails will never be enhanced without my Cebu Trail Runners family, founded by “The Master” Meyux. These guys are unselfish in sharing everything, from training guides, training tips, actual race experiences, routes, gears, and most of all, friendship.

With some of the Cebu Trail Runners. 4th from left is Master Meyux. (Photo: Rheb Regis)
Some of the Cebu Trail Runners (from left) me, AJ, Richard, Meyux, Lyra, Johnny and Teody. (Photo by Rheb Regis)

Below is the summary of the first 30 days of my self-prepared 80-day training program, as monitored from my Garmin fenix3 and FR405 watches. I hope I can execute everything and stand a chance of finishing a difficult 50-mile trail event in 18 hours or less.

Running

Total Time: 34 hours 8 minutes

Total Distance: 198 kilometers

Total Ascent: 21,523 feet

Average Pace: 10:18/kilometer

Mountain Biking (cross training)

Total Time: 3 hours 33 minutes

Total Distance: 41 kilometers

Total Ascent: 1,731 feet

Average Speed: 11.56 km/hour

Core/Weights/Yoga

Total Time: 4 hours 30 minutes

Leave a Reply

