My Cebu50 (Part 1 of 2): The Preparation

Where I work, we had a ‘theme for the month’. It’s more like a life and work value that we try to discuss during flag ceremonies and meetings, and apply in our daily responsibilities en route to hitting the company objectives. Last March 2015, our theme was ‘optimism’. One of my colleagues shared that being optimistic is being positive, being prepared and believing that you can achieve something despite any trials encountered.

In my very first attempt to become a trail ultramarathon runner, I tried to become as optimistic as possible because I knew that it will not (and will never ever) be a walk in the park. Yes, I have already finished many ultramarathons, including a 100km event, and all of them are road races. But a trail race is somewhat divergent; it’s a different animal! I set my sights on Cebu50 Trail Ultramarathon held last March 28. I registered as early as January, and tried to whittle down the challenges along the way. My biggest road block was finding the time to train. Time is not my ally, especially during first quarters. I am an accountant by profession, and all accountants can probably relate to my situation. I thought, during that time, I spent 12-16 hours in the office everyday just to finish work!

Cebu50 Trail Ultramarathon 2015
Cebu50 Trail Ultramarathon 2015 (Photo grabbed from Cebu50 FB page)

For short and fast runs, I would sneak in a 30-minute to 1 hour run every 5pm at the office backyard trails, then get back to work again afterwards. I would usually run with some officemates, who are also my Free Runners teammates. Getting the long runs is where I’m having some problem. Because of, maybe, I’m too tired working during weekdays (or maybe, I’m just lazy), I usually don’t feel like running on Sundays. So, to force myself to run long on weekends, I joined marathon events each month – Cebu Marathon (CM 2015) in January, Condura Skyway Marathon (CSM 2015) in February, and Kawasan Falls Marathon (KFM 2015) in March. Had the Runnilla Eco-Trail Marathon pushed through, I would have one on the trails to boost preparation.

Short run with officemates/Free Runners teammates Anelyn & Venn at the office backyard trails.
Short run with officemates / Free Runners teammates at the office backyard trails.
Selfie-ing can become mandatory with my officemates.
Selfie-ing during runs can become mandatory with these guys!

CM 2015 and CSM 2015 were treated purely as long run trainings, never forcing myself when fatigue strikes in, finishing at modest times of 05:36:12 andย  05:23:43, respectively. The KFM 2015 was my sort of test of overall physical preparedness and I’m glad that I registered a new personal record (PR) of 04:45:52 for road marathons. My run was maximized with the help of Intra Juice. Took two (2) jiggers an hour before the race for some extra energy.

Cebu Marathon 2015 finisher
Cebu Marathon 2015 finisher, about 300 meters to the finish line. (Photo by Paksit Photos)
Condura Skyway Marathon 2015 finisher, running alongside G6 teammate Jean Dalumpines in the first 27km (photo by Photo-Ops)
Condura Skyway Marathon 2015 finisher, running alongside G6 teammate Jean Dalumpines in the first 27km. (Photo by Photo-Ops)
Kawasan Falls Marathon 2015 finisher (photo by Sid-ok Photos)
Kawasan Falls Marathon 2015 finisher, at Km30. (Photo by Sid-ok Photos)

Having done these marathons and a couple of long runs on the trail in the Liloan-Consolacion area, plus a reconnaissance on majority of the Cebu50 route, thanks to Cebu Fat Ass Trail Run 2014 champion Boying Milan, I really felt I’m good to go! I felt I have adequate preparation and a positive mindset. Yeah, I’m optimistic!

Long run on the trails of Liloan & Consolacion.
Long run on the trails of Liloan & Consolacion.
Cebu50 route recon, on the climb to Kampar Peak (photo by Boying Milan)
Cebu50 route recon, on the ascent to Kampar Peak. (photo by Boying Milan)
Cebu50 route recon, feeling the heat of the sun as early as 6:30am (photo by Boying Milan)
Cebu50 route recon, feeling the heat of the sun as early as 6:30am. (photo by Boying Milan)

My Cebu50 race report in Part 2 of this blog. GOD bless everyone!

New PR for the marathon distance via KFM 2015 with my run partner Intra Juice.
New PR for the marathon distance via KFM 2015 with my run partner Intra Juice.
Three 42.195km finishes in 3 consecutive months.
Three 42.195km finishes in 3 consecutive months.
One thought on “My Cebu50 (Part 1 of 2): The Preparation”

Leave a Reply

