Trail-ventures

Recently, I’ve been reading John Maxwell’s ‘How Successful People Thinks’ and he said we should practice thinking, even just for leisure, and write our thoughts immediately to solidify the idea. Some people would have a scheduled time just to think and write. I love that concept, that’s why I would like to blog again after almost a year!

Cebu Marathon 2014 42K finisher (photo by Manolito A. Camacho)
Cebu Marathon 2014 42K finisher (photo by Manolito A. Camacho)

With the demands at work, I continue running on the road at least 2-3 times a week for stress diversion. I finished my third straight Cebu Marathon last January, tried running barefoot all the way during the Run To Rebuild Bogo 14K, paced a colleague on her first half marathon and joined a fun run with office mates last March. But still I was searching for an activity that would relax my mind and recharge my body on a weekly basis.

Bonding with office mates, Summer Run 10K finisher
Bonding with office mates, Summer Run 10K finisher

Enter ‘Trail Running’.

My first trail run was last year during the Xterra Trail Run 21K. It was a very nice experience, but said to myself that I could never do trail runs alone because I might get lost. I can only mix a short stretch of trails during my long runs, but never tried running on pure trails.

Xterra Offroad Triathlon 2014 Relay Lite finishers with Team M.A.D. (photo by Atty. June Maratas)
Xterra Offroad Triathlon 2014 Relay Lite finishers with Team M.A.D. (photo by Atty. June Maratas)

I got interested in trails again after watching ‘Unbreakable’, a film about the 2010 edition of Western States 100-Miles Ultramarathon. It’s also timely because I got invited to run for Team M.A.D. in the Xterra Offroad Triathlon Relay Lite category. To prepare for the event, I began exploring the nearby hills and invited my G6 and Free Runners teammates on some occasion. To my surprise, the towns of Consolacion and Liloan, where I’m residing, are trail haven! Although the elevation is not that high, and we got lost several times but it also took us to many portion with beautiful view! By the way, I wear Kai Running Sandals on most of my trail runs, to which I experienced getting wounded. It’s all part of the experience, as they say!

With Free Runners on the rocky river trail of Mulao, Liloan.
With Free Runners on the rocky river trail of Mulao, Liloan

Now I’m excited for Sunday mornings! Of course, it’s church and family time, but while they’re still fast asleep, I can unwind and pray in the mountains. I’d like to call it my ‘Trail-ventures’! Whereas before I’ll search for road races to join, I’m now inclined on joining trail events. So far, I’ve finished two – Runnilla Eco-Challenge 30K in Minglanilla last April, and SikaRun Trail 10K last month in Liloan. I’m looking forward to enlisting in more trail races in other places, GOD-willing the marathon and ultra-marathon distances.

Runnilla Eco-Challenge 30K finisher (photo by Boying Milan)
Runnilla Eco-Challenge 30K finisher (photo by Boying Milan)

So far, trail running has made me realize that I need to improve on my overall body fitness. Because of the different challenge it imposed, I need to change my approach. Hopefully I’ll find time again to write about it. But that’s a wrap for now. GOD bless everyone!

Run To Rebuild Bogo 14K finisher, naked feet all the way (photo by ShutterFrog)
Run To Rebuild Bogo 14K finisher, naked feet all the way (photo by ShutterFrog)
Paced colleague Russell on her first half marathon at Dagan Halad Kay San Agustin 3 (photo by Nelon Nolan)
Paced colleague Russell on her first half marathon at Dagan Halad Kay San Agustin 3 (photo by Nelon Nolan)
The Mountain Pass, a trail road connecting the towns of Consolacion and Liloan
The Mountain Pass, a trail road connecting the towns of Consolacion and Liloan
Sitio Mahayahay, Jubay, Liloan trails with G6 and Free Runners
Sitio Mahayahay, Jubay, Liloan trails with G6 and Free Runners
SikaRun Trail 10K finisher (photo by Brando Pantillo)
SikaRun Trail 10K finisher (photo by Brando Pantillo)

 

 

Leave a Reply

