Squeezing Some Run

Every first quarter of the year, most accountants would experience their busiest time at work. We call this the ‘audit season’. This is the period when the accountants will close all transactions of the preceding year, prepare the financial statements and let it be audited by a third party before filing the company’s income tax return and other government-required reports. Most accountants would spend overtime every night and even on weekends just to finish the job on time.

I am an accountant by profession and I am not spared from the above mentioned challenges. In fact I consider the first three months of the year as my ‘off-season’ from running and other physical activities. Based on experience, these months were really my lowest in terms of mileage covered. The other thing about my ‘off-season’ is — I eat more and gain weight!

For this year, I aimed on changing the outcome, instead of yielding to another ‘off-season’. I tried squeezing in some runs, either early in the morning or late at night after work, and balanced my diet despite the busy work schedule. My focus is built around Titus 2:11-12 where our Creator promised that “For the grace of GOD appeared that offers salvation to all people. It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age…”. True that it’s hard, especially if relying on our own human strength. But with GOD’s grace, there is that security of victory in the end.

And my triumph was that I was able to maintain my weight at 87 kilos, registered a total of 448km (Jan 136km, Feb 155km & Mar 157km), ran my fastest marathon at 4:47:59 during the Cebu City Marathon, finished the Philhealth Nationwide Run (Cebu) 18K in 1:37:44, experienced my very first trail run via Xterra Trail Run 21K in 3:55:11, and achieved my second sub-2 hours (1:59:40) half marathon in The G.O.O.D. Run Half Marathon! Wooohooo!

42K Finisher at Cebu City Marathon (photo by Reynan Opada)
42K Finisher at Cebu City Marathon (photo by Reynan Opada)
18K Finisher at Philhealth Nationwide Run - Cebu (photo by Yaz Soon)
18K Finisher at Philhealth Nationwide Run – Cebu (photo by Yaz Soon)
21K Finisher at Xterra Trail Run (photo by Michael Ocana)
21K Finisher at Xterra Trail Run (photo by Michael Ocana)
21K Finisher at The G.O.O.D. Run (photo by Jinggoy & Joy Bascug)
21K Finisher at The G.O.O.D. Run (photo by Jinggoy & Joy Bascug)
Leave a Reply

