Give Thanks In All Circumstances

Looking back at how my year 2012 went, I realized that I have lots of blessings and accomplishments, as well as tons of challenges and discouragements, including the death of a family member. Some things progressed just the way I planned it, while some went wayward. Many faith goals were realized, yet some prayer points remain unfulfilled. In all these, I learned one thing — to “be joyful always; praying continually; giving thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for me in Christ Jesus” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18).

Giving thanks in any situation doesn’t necessarily mean giving up on those dreams that were not achieved, but it means waiting patiently while putting your hope and trust in Him whose “words are right and true, and faithful in everything He does” (Psalms 33:4).

With the year about to end, I would like to share my top five (5) running achievements during the year:

No. 1 – Became a marathoner via Cebu City Marathon last Jan 8 2012. It just felt so good knowing you were able to finish 42.195 kilometers for the first time.

42K finisher at Cebu City Marathon (photo by Sidney delos Reyes Jr.)
42K finisher at Cebu City Marathon (photo by Sydney delos Reyes Jr.)

No. 2 – Became an ultramarathoner via The Warrior 50 Ultramarathon last Sep 29 2012. Truly, I can do everything through Christ who gives me strength.

50K finisher at The Warrior 50 Ultramarathon (photo by Roy Delez)
50K finisher at The Warrior 50 Ultramarathon (photo by Roy Delez)

No. 3 – A total of 1,745 kilometers travelled on foot during the 12-month period, eclipsing last year’s total running (and walking) mileage of 1,284 kilometers logged in www.dailymile.com.

My monthly distance covered on foot as logged in www.dailymile.com
My monthly mileage on foot as logged in http://www.dailymile.com

No. 4 – Developed many new friends because of running. The sport became a venue for me to connect with other people sharing the same passion and interest as mine. I treasure every short or long run with G6 Runners, Ungo [og dagan], Cebu Ultrarunners Club, dailymile friends, my officemates, close friends from Victory Christian Fellowship, former classmates from college, my family, and of course, my wife Espie.

Long run with my G6 Runners teammates (photo by Sheryl Cortes)
Long run with my G6 Runners teammates (photo by Sheryl Jabas)
Having fun with fellow ka-Ungo in one of the Friday Night Runs (photo by Dennis Igloria)
Having fun with fellow ka-Ungo in one of the Friday Night Runs (photo by Dennis Igloria)
Christmas day fun run with family (photo by Mavy Gail Savellano)
Christmas day fun run with family (photo by Mavy Gail Savellano)

Even if I’m away from Cebu, I’m blessed to have shared some kilometers running with Team Davao Runners, Bohol Runners Club, my office colleagues in Davao, Cagayan de Oro, Laguna, La Union, Iloilo, Bacolod and Tacloban, and my friends in Singapore.

Running in Cagayan de Oro with my Mindanao colleagues
Running in Cagayan de Oro with my Mindanao colleagues (photo by Zysie Mae)
LSD in Davao with Team Davao Runners (photo by Lut Ebcas)
Rizal Day LSD in Davao with Team Davao Runners (photo by Lut Ebcas)

No. 5 – Achieved personal records (PR). Improving my finish time during races made my trainings and hard work all worthwhile, aside from maintaining good health throughout the year. During the fourth quarter, I was able to improve on three of my previous PRs:

  • Half Marathon – After two tries this year, I finally achieved a sub-2 hours half marathon, finishing in 1 hour 58 minutes 28 seconds (average pace 5:37/km) in the PMAP-PAS Synergy Run last Nov 18 2012. Instrumental to this attainment was my pacer and G6 Runners teammate Carlo.
  • 10K – Improved my previous best by almost a minute, finishing in 51 minutes 18 seconds (average pace 5:08/km) in the Salmot Kabataan Dagan Para Sa Kadaugan last Oct 27 2012.
  • 6K – Better by almost 3 minutes against my erstwhile fastest for the distance. Finished the Run For Jake: Save Life in 28 minutes 47 seconds (average pace 4:48/km) last Oct 14 2012.

That’s a wrap! God bless you and your family, experience His love and grace more and more! Let’s conquer the roads again this 2013, starting with Cebu City Marathon this Jan 13! Happy new year everyone!

Sub-2 hours 21K finisher at PMAP-PAS Synergy Run (photo by Chippy Sobrino)
Sub-2 hours 21K finisher (18th male, 22nd overall) at PMAP-PAS Synergy Run (photo by Chippy Sobrino)

10K finisher at Salmut Kabataan Dagan Para Sa Kadaugan
10K finisher (19th male, 23rd overall) at Salmut Kabataan Dagan Para Sa Kadaugan (photo by Nina Flores)
6K finisher at Run For Jake: Save Life (photo by Ronan Gonzales)
6K finisher (11th male & overall) at Run For Jake: Save Life (photo by Ronan Gonzales)
